My First Jam! 03 October

My First Jam is an event at my University and it works by getting a theme and making a game in a group in about 6-8 hours, this time everybody worked in GameMaker. Me a second year student and some friends from my class was working together in a group of six. The theme everybody got was ”Addiction X”. We started with brainstorming some ideas for a game with addiction. We came up with some different stuff but decided on a sidescrolling platformer were you play as a fat man who is addicted to fast food.
He has a hungerbar that constantly decreases and he has to jump up and down platforms to catch the food and avoid vegetables. If the hungerbar hits empty he starves to death. Each time he eats something the bar goes up and he increases slightly in size. When he’s eaten enough his stomach explodes and you win the game.

The game is pretty simple but that’s probably the only thing you can do when you’re short on time. Three of us were working on graphics, two on programming and one on sound. I was working with programming and i had a lot of trouble working with GameMaker. I’m used to Unity and XNA because there i can write in C#. In GameMaker there is a lot of drag and drop (DnD) which is useful but some areas you have to do in code and the language is GML which I’m not used to. There was a lot of trouble with the coding but given the circumstances of me learning only the basics of GameMaker the day before it worked very well. The game turned out great with some bugs and some mishaps because of time. Overall I’m very happy with the results given the time and knowledge of GameMaker.

Here is some screenshots of the game and animations.

CharStarve CharRunCharZplodeMy First Jam_Screenshot

You can play the game here!


Lämna en kommentar